Redefining ‘House Wifery’

The past couple of weeks, I’ve given up on the House Wife Project.  I haven’t been blogging, because if I’m not doing the project, what do I have to write about?  I need to redefine the house wife role as it applies to me.

Sean has agreed to do the dishes.  He also cleaned the entire house while I was sleeping on Sunday.  It was so awesome to wake up to a spotless house.  I do not excel in super cleaning.  I like to do small cleaning projects like, sweeping and Swiffering.  I also don’t mind doing the laundry.  My favorite thing to do is to decorate.  That’s why I cried when my mom shipped me a bunch of items that are craft-able.  She even sent me a glue gun!  I love that woman.

It’s been difficult to be without my craft supplies.  They currently reside in a Grand Rapids storage unit.  I left most of my possessions in MI on the off chance that Sean and I didn’t work out.  I’ve moved for a guy before.  That time I brought everything I owned.  Six months after I got there, I had to sell almost everything.  I loved my things.  I had a fantastic red couch, copious amounts of Ikea furniture and decorations, and the best bed I’ve ever slept on.  I no longer own any of those things.  Driving back to the mainland from Alaska with a trailer in February is not a safe journey.  Not only that, but it was necessary to get the eff out as quickly as possible from that living situation.

I learned my lesson from the Alaskan experience.  This time I only shipped out clothing, a few baskets, blankets, my stereo, and some other odds and ends I felt I would need.  While craft items are not something I need, I love all things that are pretty and sparkle.  So, being without the gorgeous array of all things shiny, I’m not quite feeling myself.  So, how am I supposed to be improving when I’m not feeling complete?  I’ve done a lot of personal growth in the last two years with anti-depressants, counseling, and Xanax.  Now I’m not feeling “whole” because I’m not creating pretties.

Without my pretties, I have nothing to motivate me.  I used to do a thorough cleaning whenever I wanted to do a project.  To create beauty, I need a clean space, so that I can “see” what I’m going to create without visual distractions.

Excellent… I’ve decided that this week I will craft.  With the things Mom sent me, I’ve got plenty of supplies.  Yay!  I’ve got a project for the week.

Also, my Nutrisystem shipment arrived… so I’m starting today.  I’ve already eaten breakfast, and it was yummy.  I can do this.  Mainly, because I can’t stand being chunky anymore.  I love having curves, but I shouldn’t have an innertube around my stomach.  That’s one curve too many.  I lie, it’s two curves too many.  Yep.  Two inner tubes.  Pretty picture, right?  Nope.  That’s why I’ve got Nutrisystem.  Wish me luck.  No no no.  Wish me will power.


This entry was posted in Boyfriend, Crafting, Family, Home making, Moving, Nutrisystem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

