Week 1 – Lists

So the homemaking page that I’ve chosen first is on the simple side.  I thought I’d put my toe in to check the temperature before I do a cannonball.

http://www.oldfashionedhomemaking.com/to-do-lists-6-secrets.html

Here is a bit of the posting.  I’ve shortened it for quick reading.

“But some people DO complete most of their to-do list every day! How in the world do they do that!? They are very selective about what they put on their list.

You MUST set priorities. And you must be prepared to accept that some things will never get done.

  1. Whenever you add a task to your list, include a realistic estimate of how large a block of time it will take.
  2. Prioritize. Decide which two or three tasks absolutely MUST be done by the end of the day.
  3. Tackle the MOST important task first thing in the morning and get it done, before other issues grab your attention. Don’t even look at your email or listen to voicemail until after the most important task is done.
  4. Discipline yourself to stay focused and avoid distractions throughout the day. Don’t be tempted to finish up all the little tasks that are nagging at you so that you can “really concentrate” on that important one. Before you know it, your day will be gone without much to show for it. Check email briefly every couple of hours if you must, but skim for those that MUST be answered immediately. Same thing for voicemail.”

Tomorrow I will let you know how it has been going.  It’s not been as easy as I had originally thought!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 1 – Lists

  1. Dianne Tilmann says:

    Try and make lists of the things you have to do. Cross them off as you do them. I often find myself getting everything done and adding to the list, so I can cross that off too =)

    • newfrankyj says:

      Exactly! That’s what I’m caring into this week too. I find myself doing something, finishing it, and then realizing it wasn’t on the list. Is it totally bonkers that then I write it on the list just so I can cross it off!?!

Leave a Reply

